Prize-winning poets and judges

Competitions and awards

With its comprehensive list of competitions and prizes, the Poetry Society celebrates the achievements of poets working all over the world, whatever stage of their career they are at. Nearly £15,000 is given in monetary prizes each year, along with courses, books, membership and publication, and these competitions and prizes are a central part of the Poetry Society's work.

To find out more about each of the awards read the brief introductions below, clicking on the links to find out more.

Foyle Young Poets of the Year Award


National Poetry Competition

Stanza Competition

The Geoffrey Dearmer Prize

Ted Hughes Award

The Hamish Canham Prize

Popescu Prize

The Anne Born Prize

Ted Hughes Award for New Work in Poetry
Awarded annually to a living UK poet, working in any form, who is judged to have made the most exciting contribution to the art form between 1 January and 31 December. Prize: £5,000. Poets are put forward for the award by Poetry Society and Poetry Book Society members. The 2014 competition is now open for recommendations.

Anne Born Prize
A new annual prize awarded to a selected Poetry Society member whose poems were published in Poetry News. Prize: A year of mentoring with Penelope Shuttle. The inaugural 2014 winner has been announced.

Geoffrey Dearmer Prize
An annual award for a poem published in Poetry Review  by a poet who is yet to publish a first collection. Open to poets published in Poetry Review. The next winner will be announced in 2014.

Hamish Canham Prize
A £300 award to the best poem by a Poetry Society member published in Poetry News each year. Open to members whose poems have been selected for Poetry News. The 2014 winner has been announced.

Foyle Young Poets of the Year Award
Open to poets aged 11-17, this competition is supported by the Foyle Foundation. The top fifteen winners aged 15-17 spend a week on an Arvon residency course with their judges. Winners in the 11-14 age range win a poet visit to their school. The 2014 winners have been announced.

National Poetry Competition
Established in 1978, this is one of the world's biggest single-poem poetry competitions. All poems are judged anonymously by a new set of judges each year. First prize £5,000, second £2,000, third £1,000. Open to anyone over the age of 17. The 2013 winner has been announced. The 2014 competition is now closed. 

Stanza Poetry Competition
An annual competition exclusively for Poetry Society members who are also Stanza members. The winner receives a free Poetry Prescription or a year's Membership, and the top 3 will be published on our Stanza Competition page online and featured in Poetry News. Open to Stanza members selected for Poetry News. The next winner will be announced in 2014.

SLAMbassadors UK
The SLAMbassadors championship, open to 12-18 year olds, showcases some of the best up and coming performance poets the UK has to offer. Winners join a master class weekend at the Poetry Society and perform live at a prestigious London venue. The 2014 winners have been announced.

Corneliu M Popescu Prize for European Poetry Translation
A biennial prize run by the Poetry Society for published collections of poetry translated from a European language into English. The prize is named after Corneliu M Popescu, a young Romanian translator killed in an earthquake in 1977. The next competition will be in 2015.


Competition News

December 2014
Former SLAMbassadors winner Emily Anne will perform a tribute to Malala Yousafzai as part of 'Girls of the World' at the Nobel Peace Prize Concert in Norway.

October 2014
The winners of SLAMbassadors UK 2014 have been announced, and will perform at the Southbank Centre on 31 October.

October 2014
The winners of the Foyle Young Poets Award have been announced.

September 2014
The Ted Hughes Award for New Work in Poetry is now open for recommendations

May 2014
The National Poetry Competition is now open for entries

March 2014
Congratulations to Linda France, who has won the National Poetry Competition

March 2014
Congratulations to Suzanna Fitzpatrick, winner of the Hamish Canham Prize

March 2014
Congratulations to Maggie Sawkins, winner of the Ted Hughes Award for New Work in Poetry.

March 2014
The Foyle Young Poets Award is now open for entries.

January 2014
Congratulations to Suzanne Batty, who has been announced as the inaugural winner of the Anne Born Prize

December 2013
Hear readings from the books shortlisted for the Popescu Prize 2013.

November 2013
Alice Oswald wins the Popescu Prize 2013 with her collection 'Memorial'. Watch her read an extract in this video

October 2013
The Foyle Young Poets of the Year Award winners have been announced. Read more

October 2013
The SLAMbassadors UK winners have been announced, and will perform at the Southbank Centre. Read more

July 2013
BBC Proms Poetry Competition in association with the Poetry Society:Deadline 8th August!

Don Paterson and Ian McMillan judging this years competition for poems inspired by a piece of proms music: Categories - 12-18 and 19+ Find out more

June 2013
Kayo Chingonyi wins the Geoffrey Dearmer Prize 2013, judged by Jane Draycott

June 2013
Robin Houghton wins the Hamish Canham Prize 2013.

May 2013
Patricia McCarthy reads her 1st prize poem from National Poetry Competition at House of Commons on May 15th, launching WWI commemorations

May 2013
Ann Gray, who was commended in the 2010 National Poetry Competition appears alongside US poet Matthew Dickman for an evening of exciting poetry

May 2013
NPC 2011 2nd prize winner Samantha Wynne-Rhydderch is shortlisted for The Wales Book of the Year Award 

May 2013
Winner of NPC 2013 Patricia McCarthy will appear in the Keats House Festival in Anonymity & the Prizewinning Poem
March 2013
Kate Tempest wins the Ted Hughes Award for New Work in Poetry 2012.

March 2013
Patricia McCarthy wins the National Poetry Competition 2012.  

December 2012
Ian Duhig (winner, NPC 19872000), Caroline Bird (former Foyle Young Poet) and Zaffar Kunial (third prize,NPC 2011) are all teaching on the Winter Warmer Arvon course in January 2013.

October 2012
Caroline Carver (winner,NPC 1998) was commissioned to write words for a stone which sits outside the new Marine Science Building at Plymouth University.

October 2012
Sam Riviere (commended,NPC 2009) has won the £5,000 Forward Prize for best first collection.

September 2012
Congratulations to Flora de Falbe (winner, FYP 2011), who has won the Young People's category of the Ledbury Poetry Competition.

September 2012
Sam Riviere (commendedNPC 2009) has released a new book: Austerities(Faber).